Frequently Asked Questions
Las Vegas Criminal Defense Attorney
If you were accused of a crime in Las Vegas, there are probably many questions
on your mind. Whether you were visiting Las Vegas or are a resident, being
charged with a crime is a frightening experience. Since 1991, the
Law Office of Chip Siegel, Esq. has been dedicated to protecting those accused of criminal offenses. I
have been able to successfully defend cases of domestic violence, drug
crimes, DUI, prostitution, and much more. No matter how complex or hopeless
you believe your situation to be, my firm could make all the difference
in the outcome of your case.
What should I do after an arrest?
Whether this was your first arrest or you have had previous run-ins with
the law, the time following an arrest can be confusing. If you have been
arrested, comply with the police officers to the best of your ability.
Arguing your case at this point may not be helpful in the long run. You
are encouraged to take advantage of your right to remain silent and your
right to an attorney. Even if you are completely innocent of all charges,
what you say could be twisted and held against you. For this reason, it
is best to allow a legal professional to walk with you throughout this process.
Can I challenge my DUI?
One of the most common offenses is
DUI If you were accused of drunk driving, you need to be aware that there
are multiple ways in which to defend yourself. I am certified by the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration to conduct field sobriety tests.
If there were any errors in your field sobriety test, I have the training
and experience necessary to detect these errors and so challenge the evidence
against you. Also, if you were the victim of an illegal search and seizure,
this could help in your defense.
What penalties could I be facing?
The penalties for criminal offenses in Nevada will differ depending on
the specific crime. Felony offenses are more serious than misdemeanors
and so will carry with it more serious consequences. Misdemeanors can
result in up to one year in county jail and a $1,000 fine. A felony could
result in time in state prison instead of county jail and higher fines.
If you are convicted of a sex crime, you will be placed on the sex offender
registry permanently as well as face time behind bars. If you are facing
DUI charges, you are also running the risk of losing your driver's license.
Is prostitution illegal in Las Vegas?
It may come as a surprise to learn that
prostitution is against the law even in Las Vegas. Throughout Clark County, you can
be arrested for offering sexual acts in exchange for payment. Those accused
of prostitution can be facing up to six months in jail as well as fines
of up to $1,000. Under the Nevada Penal Code, it is also illegal to solicit
the services of a prostitute.
What are the penalties for domestic violence?
domestic violence includes child abuse, elder abuse, and battery or assault against a family
member or someone you live with. The penalties you could be facing will
vary based on certain factors of your case. If it is the first or second
time you have been accused of battery domestic violence, then you could
be charged with a misdemeanor as long as there was no substantial bodily
harm. If it was a multiple offense or a deadly weapon was involved, then
the charge could be increased to a Category C felony.
Will you have to register as a sex offender?
If you are convicted of a sex crime and have been labeled as a sex offender,
the State of Nevada has certain requirements when it comes to registering
as a sex offender. You will have to register if you are in a city for
more than 48 hours. If you have a change of address, you will have to
notify the authorities within 48 hours of changing your address. On top
of that, every year, a verification form will be sent to the individual's
address and they will have to sign it and mail it back within ten days.
Were you accused of hit and run?
Under Nevada law, it is required that you remain at the scene of the accident
if you were involved in a collision. Whether physical injury or property
damage or both was present, it is required that you exchange contact information
with the other driver. If you do not, criminal charges could be brought
against you and you could even be facing time in prison, depending on
the circumstances of your case. The maximum penalty for an accident with
minor injuries is one year in jail, but if someone was killed, they could
be charged with a felony and be facing time in state prison.
Do I need an attorney?
If you have been accused of a crime in Las Vegas, having a skilled and
experienced legal representative on your side could make all the difference
in the outcome of your case. At the Law Office of Chip Siegel understands
crime in Vegas and will fight tirelessly to protect your freedom and your
future. Do not risk a permanent mark on your criminal record by failing to
contact our firm. I have over 20 years of experience in these types of cases and you can
be confident that you have a strong advocate by your side every step of the way.