Commercial DUI Defense in Las Vegas
Legal Guidance from a Las Vegas DUI Lawyer
There are many laws and ordinances in place to protect drivers on the road,
and one of the many offenses that drivers can be guilty of is drinking
and driving. When drivers are pulled over and the police officer suspects them of
DUI, they may be asked to submit to certain tests. If their BAC (blood alcohol
content) is found to be at or above the legal limit of 0.08%, then they
will be arrested and charged with the criminal offense of drinking and
driving. As a commercial driver, you are held to a much stricter standard.
If your BAC is found to be at or above 0.04%, you could be arrested and
charged with this serious criminal offense.
Understanding Implied Consent Law
In addition, it is essential to know that you could be arrested for impaired
driving if there is any traceable amount of alcohol in your system. When
driving on the roads in Nevada, you are bound by implied consent laws,
meaning that you agree to submit to chemical testing when asked. A refusal
of a chemical test in this state will result in the officer using reasonable
force to obtain the samples necessary to determine BAC.
If you have been arrested and charged with this criminal offense, then
you need the assistance of a
Las Vegas DUI attorney from my firm. You also need to be aware of the various penalties that
you could face for a conviction of commercial DUI in this state.
Nevada Commercial DUI Penalties
First, it is important to know what vehicles the state of Nevada recognizes
as commercial. Any vehicle that is designed to carry 16 or more passengers,
carry hazardous materials, or weighs more than 26,001 pounds is considered
a CMV in this state. The most significant difference in penalties between
DUI and CMV DUI in this state is the suspension of a commercial driver's license.
A first-time conviction of this offense will result in one year license
suspension, however if you were transporting hazardous materials at the
time of your arrest, then the suspension increases to three years. If
you are convicted of a second CMV DUI offense, then you will face lifelong
suspension of your commercial driver's license if you are convicted.
Penalties that you will face for conviction of a commercial DUI offense
include up to six months in jail, up to 96 hours of community service,
up to $1,000 in fines, victim impact panel, Nevada DUI School, and a 90
suspension of non-commercial drivers licenses. If you are convicted of
a second offense, then you will face up to six months in jail, up to $1,000
in fines, one year license suspension, and other penalties. It is essential
for you to have skilled legal assistance on your side to fight the charges
that you face.
What to Do After Facing Charges
At the Law Office of Chip Siegel, Esq., I am dedicated to helping my clients
achieve the results that they need through aggressive defense representation.
I understand the emotional hardships that you may be experiencing if you
have been arrested such as fear, anxiety, and uncertainty regarding the
future. If you choose to work with me, then I will work to provide you
with all of the answers that you desire, and to provide you with the information
that you need in order to dispel any unnecessary fear of the unknown.
Since 1991, I have been providing the residents of Las Vegas, Nevada with
the aggressive defense representation that they need, and you can be sure
that I will put this experience to work for you.