Frequently Asked Questions
Criminal Defense FAQ's
If you were accused of a crime in Las Vegas, there are probably many questions on your mind. Whether you were visiting Las Vegas or are a resident, being charged with a crime is a frightening experience. Since 1991, the Law Office of Chip Siegel, Esq. has been dedicated to protecting those accused of criminal offenses. I have been able to successfully defend cases of domestic violence, drug crimes, DUI, prostitution, and much more. No matter how complex or hopeless you believe your situation to be, my firm could make all the difference in the outcome of your case.
What Should I Do After an Arrest?
Whether this was your first arrest or you have had previous run-ins with the law, the time following an arrest can be confusing. If you have been arrested, comply with the police officers to the best of your ability. Arguing your case at this point may not be helpful in the long run. You are encouraged to take advantage of your right to remain silent and your right to an attorney. Even if you are completely innocent of all charges, what you say could be twisted and held against you. For this reason, it is best to allow a legal professional to walk with you throughout this process.
Can I Challenge My DUI?
One of the most common offenses is DUI If you were accused of drunk driving, you need to be aware that there are multiple ways in which to defend yourself. I am certified by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to conduct field sobriety tests. If there were any errors in your field sobriety test, I have the training and experience necessary to detect these errors and so challenge the evidence against you. Also, if you were the victim of an illegal search and seizure, this could help in your defense.
What Penalties Could I Be Facing?
The penalties for criminal offenses in Nevada will differ depending on the specific crime. Felony offenses are more serious than misdemeanors and so will carry with it more serious consequences. Misdemeanors can result in up to one year in county jail and a $1,000 fine. A felony could result in time in state prison instead of county jail and higher fines. If you are convicted of a sex crime, you will be placed on the sex offender registry permanently as well as face time behind bars. If you are facing DUI charges, you are also running the risk of losing your driver's license.
Is Prostitution Illegal in Las Vegas?
It may come as a surprise to learn that prostitution is against the law even in Las Vegas. Throughout Clark County, you can be arrested for offering sexual acts in exchange for payment. Those accused of prostitution can be facing up to six months in jail as well as fines of up to $1,000. Under the Nevada Penal Code, it is also illegal to solicit the services of a prostitute.
What are the Penalties for Domestic Violence?
In Nevada, domestic violence includes child abuse, elder abuse, and battery or assault against a family member or someone you live with. The penalties you could be facing will vary based on certain factors of your case. If it is the first or second time you have been accused of battery domestic violence, then you could be charged with a misdemeanor as long as there was no substantial bodily harm. If it was a multiple offense or a deadly weapon was involved, then the charge could be increased to a Category C felony.
Will You Have to Register as a Sex Offender?
If you are convicted of a sex crime and have been labeled as a sex offender, the State of Nevada has certain requirements when it comes to registering as a sex offender. You will have to register if you are in a city for more than 48 hours. If you have a change of address, you will have to notify the authorities within 48 hours of changing your address. On top of that, every year, a verification form will be sent to the individual's address and they will have to sign it and mail it back within ten days.
Were You Accused of a Hit and Run?
Under Nevada law, it is required that you remain at the scene of the accident if you were involved in a collision. Whether physical injury or property damage or both was present, it is required that you exchange contact information with the other driver. If you do not, criminal charges could be brought against you and you could even be facing time in prison, depending on the circumstances of your case. The maximum penalty for an accident with minor injuries is one year in jail, but if someone was killed, they could be charged with a felony and be facing time in state prison.
Get Years of Experience on Your Side
If you have been accused of a crime in Las Vegas, having a skilled and experienced legal representative on your side could make all the difference in the outcome of your case. I have over 20 years of experience in these types of cases and you can be confident that you have a strong advocate by your side every step of the way.
At the Law Office of Chip Siegel understands crime in Vegas and will fight tirelessly to protect your freedom and your future. Do not risk a permanent mark on your criminal record by failing to contact our firm.